History of the Buddhist Studies Review

Pali Buddhist Review was produced from 1976 to 1982 (to Vol. 6, no.2) by the Pali Buddhist Union, and was edited by Russell Webb. In 1983, it was superceded by Buddhist Studies Review, of the Institut de recherche bouddhique Lin-So’n and the Pali Buddhist Union, also edited by Russell Webb, and in 1998 Buddhist Studies Review was adopted by the UK Association for Buddhist Studies as its journal. As of 2006, Buddhist Studies Review became produced commercially, on behalf of UKABS, by Equinox. The more recent editions can be found via Equinox by clicking here.

Past Editors

From 2009, Book Reviews Editors: Alice Collett and Sarah Shaw.

From 2006 Buddhist Studies Review was published by Equinox Publishing, Ltd.: General Editor: Peter Harvey (Sunderland)
Book Reviews Editor: Mahinda Deegalle (Bath Spa).

Editors for the 2005 edition: Rupert Gethin, Mahinda Deegalle (Book Reviews Editor)
Editorial Board: T.H. Barrett, Cathy Cantwell, Elizabeth Harris, Peter Harvey, Ulrich Pagel, Charles S. Prebish, Andrew Skilton

Editor: Russell Webb 2004 (with Rupert Gethin as joint editor for 2001 issues) Assistant Editor: Bhikkhu Pasadika, plus, from 1987, Sara Boin-Webb

BSR adopted by the UK Association for Buddhist Studies in 1998
Cathy Cantwell and Rupert Gethin added to Editorial Board as UKABS links in 1999.

Original Advisory Committee: Ven. Thích Huyên-Vi (Spiritual Advisor), André Bareau, Eric Cheetam, Lance Cousins, Hubert Durt, Eddy Moerloose, Peter Skilling and Paul Williams.

Editorial Board

T.H. Barrett (School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) University of London), Ven. Khammai Dhammasami (Oxford Buddhist Vihara), Lucia Dolce (SOAS), Rupert Gethin (Bristol University), Elizabeth Harris (Liverpool Hope University), Rob Mayer (Oriental Institute, Oxford University), Ulrich Pagel (SOAS), Ashley Thompson (Leeds University), Will Tuladhar-Douglas (Aberdeen University), Andrew Skilton (King’s College London).

Editorial Advisory Board

Mark Allon (Sydney University), Robert Buswell (UCLA), Lance Cousins (Oxford; formerly Manchester University), Richard Gombrich (Oxford University), Paul Harrison (Stanford University), Ann Heirman (Ghent University), K.R. Norman (Cambridge University), Charles S. Prebish (Pennsylvania State University), Cristina Scherrer-Schaub (Lausanne University).